Thornton Academy's Career Center is located in the back of Hyde Library. The initiatives of the Career Center are:

  • To expose students on both post-secondary and workforce environments to various STEM occupations and to provide understanding of how STEM subjects are linked to real-world vocations. 
  • To develop partnerships with businesses as a vehicle for industry to provide input to STEM education.
  • To generate greater interests in, and access to, diverse career and vocational possibilities that exist within STEM-related fields.
  • To support classroom teachers by providing career exploration resources in the form of job application and interview skills workshops and industry presenters. 
  • To support students in the career exploration process by facilitating the following:
  1. Naviance Self-Assessments
  2. Career Cluster Research
  3. Job Shadow Scheduling
  4. Internship Design
Career Pathways Coordinator Mrs. Linda Roth



Mrs. Linda Roth works with students as they identify their strengths and interests, explore careers that are a fit for them, and put a plan in place for post-high school training/education. This process includes researching jobs in labor market growth sectors and participating in real life experiences via job shadows and internships.

Career/Community Coordinator Mrs. Linda Verville



Mrs. Linda Verville's responsibilities include helping students identify career interests and connecting them to relevant experiences within the community. She also oversees the long- standing Mentor Program which provides juniors and seniors with the opportunity to work with elementary and middle school students.  She is also the Advisor for the Barbara Bush Literacy Foundation’s Trendsetters Program. This new initiative pairs high schools students with K-2nd graders. The students implement a science-based curriculum along with reading strategies to help build their skills.

Job Shadowing/ Internships

From lawyers and nurses to teachers and bakers, from athletic trainers and welders to public safety officers and marine biologists, Maine needs them all, and Thornton Academy’s School-to-Work Program is one of the ways that we help students transition into the working world. 

Here is a list of our community partners who host or work with students:

A-1 Cab Service http://www.a1cabservice.com/ 
Academe (Kennebunk Inn) www.thekennebunkinn.com/dining-academe-restaurant
Acadia Insurance Company www.acadiainsurance.com
Acapello www.acapellosalons.com
Active Chiropractic www.activechiropractor.com
AG Engineers, Inc. Gorham, ME
Angel Rox www.angelrox.com
Animal Medical Associates www.animalmedicalassociates.com
Animal Welfare Society www.animalwelfaresociety.org
Anne Romano, CPA www.anneromanocpa.com
Arundel Machine www.arundelmachine.com
Atlantic Heights www.atlanticheightsmaine.com
Biddeford Animal Hospital www.biddefordanimalhospital.com
Biddeford Municipal Airport www.biddefordmaine.org/airport
Bruce Haskell Photography www.brucehaskellphotography.com
Burns School www.sites.google.com/site/ckburnsschool2013/
Caleb Johnson, Architects+Builders www.cjab.me
Cape Seafood Saco, ME
Caring Unlimited www.caring-unlimited.org
Carl Goodwin, Contractor www.buildgoodwin.com
Carlisle Academy www.carlisleacademymaine.com
Chamberlain Homes www.chamberlainhomes.com
Cianbro www.cianbro.com
Coldwell Banker www.coldwellbanker.com
Current Publishing www.keepmecurrent.com
Curtis Thaxter, Attorneys at Law www.curtisthaxter.com
Discovery Place Child Care www.discoveryplacechildcare.com
Don’s Sheet Metal www.donssheetmetal.com
Dr. Thomas Benenti-Dentist www.kennebunkdentist.com
Duane Harvey Custom Homes Scarborough, ME
Dunstan Dental Center www.dunstandental.com
Expressive Arts and Play Therapy Studio www.expressiveartsandplaytherapystudio.com
Fernleaf Bakery www.fernleafbakery.com
Ferry Beach Ecology School www.theecologyschool.org
Frank Galos Chevrolet www.frankgalosauto.com
General Dynamics www.gd-ots.com/locations/saco_operations.html
Goodall Hospital www.smhc.org
Gorham Micro Saco, ME
HB Fleming, Inc. www.hbfleming.com
Haley’s Metal Shop www.haleysmetal.com
Hannaford Pharmacy www.hannaford.com
Hardy Pond Construction www.hardypond.com
Home Depot www.homedepot.com
IDEXX www.idexx.com
Investors Capital www.investorscapital.com
J. D. Stewart Financial, Inc. www.jdstewartfinancial.com
James L. Audiffred, Attorney at Law Saco, ME
Jay Beauchemin, Dental www.jaybeauchemin.com
Jerry Letellier. Plumbing Saco, ME
Joseph McKenney, Photography www.mckenneyphoto.com
Justina McGettigan, Deputy District Attorney York County, ME
Key Bank www.key.com
Laurie Manchester, Drug & Alcohol Counselor Biddeford, ME
Level 8 Design Studio www.level8ds.com
Linda Valentino www.lindavalentino.org
Lisa Howard, Orthodontics www.howardortho.com
Living Innovations www.livinginnovations.com
Maine Department of Inland Fisheries www.maine.gov/ifw
Maine Masonry www.mainemasonry.com
Maine Magazine www.themainemag.com
Maine Medical Center www.mmc.org
Maine Society of CPA’s www.mecpa.org
Maine Turnpike Authority www.maineturnpike.com
Mainely Kidz PT, Inc. www.mainelykidzpt.com
Mainely Media www.mainelymediallc.com
Market Basket www.mydemoulas.net
McArthur Library www.mcarthurpubliclibrary.org
Mercy Hospital www.mercyhospital.org
Morrison Center www.morrison-maine.org
Motorland Vintage America www.motorlandamerica.com
Oceanside Computer Sales and Service www.oceansidecomputers.com
Octagon www.octagon.com
Orthopedic Physical Therapy, Assoc. www.optamaine.com
P&C Insurance www.insurancepc.com
PM Construction www.pmconstruction.com
Precision Screw Machine Products www.psmp.com
Penelope Daborn Interior Design www.penelopedaborn.com
Pennisi-Lamare Advertising www.pldesignmaine.com
Portland Jetport Air Traffic Control www.portlandjetport.org
Portland Sea Dogs www.seadogs.com
Portsmouth Naval Shipyard www.navsea.navy.mil/shipyards/portsmouth
Precision Screw Machine Products www.psmp.com
Prime Mazda www.primemazda.com
Prime Mercedes Benz www.primemotorcars.com
R.W. Gillespie & Associates, Inc. www.rwgillespie.com
Ramada Saco www.ramada.com/Saco
Ray’s Small Engine www.rays111.biz
Ray’s Truck Service www.raystruckservice.net
Richard Sandifer Photography www.rgsphoto.com
Rick LaFlamme, Game Warden, Maine
Robert Bolduc, OD www.bolduceyecare.com
Rumery Boat www.rumerys.com
Saco Bay Physical Therapy www.sacobaypt.com
Saco & Biddeford Savings www.sbsavings.com
Saco Fire Department www.sacomaine.org/departments/fire/fire.shtml
Saco Middle School www.sacomiddleschool.com
Saco Police Department www.sacomaine.org/departments/police/police.shtml
Saco Public Works www.sacomaine.org/departments/publicworks/publicworks.shtml
Saco Sport and Fitness www.sacofitness.com
Salmon Falls Architecture www.salmonfallsarch.com
Sappi www.sappi.com
Scarborough Veterans’ Home www.maineveteranshomes.org
Shaker Hill Kitchen
Shaheen & Gordon, P.A.
Shaw’s Pharmacy www.shawsoscopharmacies.com
Sound and Motion
Southern Maine Medical Center www.smhc.org
Spa Tech Institute www.spatech.edu/westbrook-me.html
Spurwink Therapeutic Pre-School www.spurwink.org
St. Andre Healthcare Facility www.standre.org
Sun Chronicle www.keepmecurrent.com/sun_chronicle
The Men’s Room www.mensroomsalon.com
The Studio www.thestudioportland.com
Toddle Inn Daycare www.toddleinn.com
Travelwise Cruises and Tours
Truslow Adult Day Center www.smaaa.org/adc.html
UNE www.une.edu
University College at Saco www.learn.maine.edu/saco/
Unum www.unum.com
WCYY www.wcyy.com
WEX www.wexinc.com
WGME www.wgme.com
WJBQ www.wjbq.com
WMTW www.wmtw.com
Winxnet www.winxnet.com
Woodman, Edmands, Danylik & Austin www.woodedlaw.com
Xuron www.xuron.com
Yale Cordage www.yalecordage.com
Young School www.sacoschools.org

NTMA: National Tooling & Machining Association Partnership

Thornton Academy has become the first high school in the country to partner with the National Tooling and Machining Association (NTMA) to offer an online training curriculum (NTMA-U) that promotes advanced workforce development. The Thornton Academy NTMA-U program provides motivated students the opportunity to earn a high school diploma concurrently with a competency certificate in Precision Machining. Tom Narciso, Instructor at Thornton Academy and Associate Professor at Southern Maine Community College, said, “The precision manufacturing industry is on the precipice of the long-awaited trend of diminishing supply of skilled labor. We need to put away the old stereotypes about shop class. This NTMA-U program provides another pathway for students to experience the academic rigor connected with our industry.” Thornton Academy students who have enrolled and advanced in this program have already begun working at the North Berwick, Maine plant of Pratt & Whitney, a United Technologies Corporation company that designs, manufactures, and services aircraft engines and auxiliary power units. Click here to read a full press release.

 Left to Right: Students Nick Rizeakos, Thomas Teague, and Paul Jurgiewich receive hands-on work experience at Pratt & Whitney.

Thornton Academy
438 Main Street Saco 04072 20854
(207) 282-3361
powered by finalsite