Sign In
Thornton Academy Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

In the back row from left to right are Mark Willett ’65, Kenneth Janson ’72, , Dennis Flaherty, Eric A. Purvis ’81, William S. Kany ’77, Paul Remmes, and Bernard Gaines ’65. In the front row from left to right are Kathy Boutet Santamore’80, Stephen Garland '64, James Nelson ’67, Joyce D. Haley ’75 and Vangel Cotsis ’85. Not pictured are Earle Cianchette, Brian Dallaire ’75, Phil Fearon '70, Robert Gowen, Jeanne Hey, Bill Johnson and Karen Lovell.
Current Board of Trustees Members
Earle Cianchette
Vangel Cotsis '85
Brian Dallaire '75
Philip Fearon '70
Dennis Flaherty
Bernard Gaines '65
Stephen Garland '64
Robert Gowen
Joyce D. Haley '75
Jeanne Hey
Ken Janson '72
Bill Johnson
William S. Kany '77
Karen Lovell
James Nelson '67
Eric A. Purvis '81
, President
Paul Remmes
Kathy Boutet Santamore '80
Mark Willett '65
Since 1811, the Thornton Academy Board of Trustees has demonstrated exemplary leadership, generous philanthropic support and meaningful commitment on behalf of its students and community. Below you can view the names of our Trustees throughout Thornton's history and the names of our Board Presidents since 1889.
Founding Board of Trustees, 1811
Read More

Board of Trustees Appointed 1812 - 1889
Read More

Board of Trustees Appointed 1890 - 1979
Read More

Board of Trustees Appointed 1980 - 2008
Read More

Board Presidents Since 1889
Read More
September 26, 2013

Rene Menard, Headmaster and Eric Purvis, Board of Trustees President, announced that Thornton Academy is inducting Earle Cianchette and Jeanne Hey, Ph.D. to its Board of Trustees on Thursday, September 26th.
Earle Cianchette, Senior Vice Presidents of Operations at Cianbro, graduated from Maine Maritime Academy with a B.S. in Nautical Science and a 3rd Mates License.  After graduation, he shipped with American Trading & Transportation until 1982.  Following that, he joined Cianbro where he is currently employed.  His professional and community affiliations include Maine Maritime Academy Alumni Association (board member and President); Maine Better Transportation Association (board member and past President); and Youth League Athletics in Saco, Maine.  He currently resides in Saco with his wife, Maryellen, and their three children.  
Dr. Jeanne Hey, Dean for the College of Arts & Sciences of University of New England, earned a B.A. in International Relations and Spanish from Bucknell University and an M.A. and Ph.D. in Political Science from the Ohio State University. Her teaching and research interests lie in the areas of international politics, comparative foreign policy, the developing world, Latin America, and small states. Her experience living and working in Columbia, Ecuador, Jamaica, Luxembourg, and Scotland contributed to her expertise in study abroad programs. An author of 4 books and dozens of articles, Dr. Hey lives in Saco, ME, with her husband, Thomas Klak, and their two sons, one of whom is currently a student at Thornton Academy.
2012-2013 Annual Report